Shri Mansukh L Mandaviya

Union Minister of Health and Family Welfare

Dr Bharati Pravin Pawar

Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare, Govt of India

Dr. Pramod Garg

President AIIMS, Bilaspur

Dr. Vir Singh Negi

Executive Director AIIMS, Bilaspur

अखिल भारतीय आयुर्विज्ञान संस्थान, बिलासपुर



All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) Bilaspur (Himachal Pradesh), an Institute of National Importance was officially approved, under Phase-V of the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Suraksha Yojana (PMSSY), by Union Cabinet on December 04, 2019. The Institute was approved to be established over a span of about 247 acre (99.96 hectre) land on National Highway – 205 (Shimla-Kangra / Shimla Ghumarwin road), in the village of Kothipura, District Bilaspur, Himachal Pradesh. AIIMS Bilaspur is set up with objectives of correcting regional imbalances in the availability of affordable/reliable tertiary healthcare services and also to augment facilities for quality medical education in the country. It intends to develop patterns of teaching in undergraduate and postgraduate medical education in all its branches so as to demonstrate a high standard of medical education to all medical colleges and other allied institutions in India. The Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi laid the foundation stone of AIIMS, Bilaspur on October 03, 2017. Subsequently on January 21, 2019, Hon’ble Health Minister Shri J P Nadda and Hon’ble Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh Shri Jai Ram Thakur performed the Bhoomi Pujan. The project is being developed in 3 phases. Presently development is taking place in phase –I wherein, AIIMS Bilaspur is proposed to be a 750 bedded hospital with 15-20 super specialty departments equipped with all modern facilities. To further enhance healthcare delivery, AIIMS Bilaspur is likely to widen the spectrum of services through the expansion of various super-specialty departments in subsequent phases to provide affordable and reliable tertiary level healthcare in the Himachal Pradesh, and adjoining states of Punjab and Haryana. Dr. Pramod Garg, Professor, Department of Gastroenterology, and Associate Dean (Research), AIIMS, New Delhi, was nominated as the first President of AIIMS Bilaspur, in March 2020. AIIMS Bilaspur started its first academic session from January 12, 2021, with a batch of 50 MBBS students. In May 2021, Dr. Vir Singh Negi joined as the first Executive Director of AIIMS Bilaspur.

Contact Us
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Bilaspur Kothipura, District Bilaspur Himachal Pradesh 174037